Header Konsortium.jpg
 

Consortium

Core Competencies of the Consortium Partners

Charité - University Medicine Berlin

Charité is Germany's largest university hospital. The tasks of the Institute of Pathology in medical care include the histological and cytological diagnostic services for Charité and its external partner hospitals. Thanks to the research group of Prof. Peter Hufnagl, the institute has a very long experience in the field of digital pathology and the analysis of microscopic images. The institute has 8 slide scanners of different manufacturers, including a Pannoramic P1000 (3DHistech) for high-throughput scanning.

 

With its comprehensive know-how, its clinical expertise and its contacts to all relevant organizations, committees and industry, Charité has taken on project management. In the work packages, it will lead the development of the ecosystem and the formation of the consortium as well as involve the relevant stakeholders. It is responsible for making the ecosystem user-centered and will oversee the configuration of the reference centers.

Fraunhofer MEVIS

Fraunhofer MEVIS is a non-profit research and development center for digital medicine. Integrated into a network of clinical and academic partners, Fraunhofer MEVIS develops practical software systems for image and data-supported early detection, diagnosis and therapy. An important field of competence is the development of innovative AI solutions for pathology. Fraunhofer MEVIS works closely with medical technology and pharmaceutical companies and pursues the entire innovation chain from applied research to certified medical products.

Distributed Artificial Intelligence Laboratory

The DAI laboratory of the Technical University of Berlin under the direction of Prof. Dr. Sahin Albayrak works at the interface between research and industry, with a focus on the development of distributed, autonomous systems, machine learning, robotics, computer security as well as networks and interactive systems. In addition, the DAI-Labor was able to gain extensive experience in the development of open platforms, data management, interoperability, machine and deep learning in numerous projects in the fields of industry, mobility, government and e-health.

For the EMPAIA project, the DAI-Labor will contribute its expertise, especially in the area of the explainability of AI, containerization and the networking and search for services and solutions.

 

Qualitätssicherungs-Initiative Pathologie GmbH

QuIP has been conducting round robin tests for pathology since 2004. These are a common means of external quality assurance with which the participants can assess their performance or compare it with other pathologies.

The sub-area of the project covered by QuIP aims to simplify the certification and approval process for diagnostic software manufacturers and to accelerate the market launch. This includes, on the one hand, validation processes that QuIP would like to support and, on the other hand, the recording and evaluation of the performance of AI tools.

QuIP is the right company in Germany to be a service provider for quality assurance to support pathologists as well as pharmaceutical and IVD-producing companies in comparing and optimizing their examination results (anonymously). The focus of EMPAIA is the development of instruments for long-term quality assurance (QA monitoring), an important step to improve the trust of the users in the results of the algorithms.

vitagroup AG

At vitagroup, over 250 specialists across Germany work, day in and day out, to sustainably improve healthcare through advanced technology and intelligent services.

 

Our digital products and networked supply solutions are already making possible what many believe to be a long way off. From outpatient and inpatient care to direct-to-patient, we offer cross-segment solutions for the networked, patient-centered healthcare of the future.

 

With the intelligent use of advanced technology, we avoid redundancies and develop smart and networked solutions that map the entire patient journey. On the basis of open standards, we create real interoperability - this is the only way to create what we call HEALTH INTELLIGENCE.

 

The team

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter Hufnagl

Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Principal Investigator
Digitale Pathologie IT

Project Coordinator for EMPAIA

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Horst K. Hahn

Fraunhofer-Institut für

Digitale Medizin MEVIS

Institute Director

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Sahin Albayrak

Technische Universtität Berlin

DAI Labor

Insitute Director

Thomas Pilz

Qualitätssicherungs-Initiative Pathologie GmbH (QuIP)

Managing Director

Joachim Neugebauer

​vitagroup AG

Segment Lead Stationäre Versorgung

Dipl.-Inf. Norman Zerbe

Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Digital Pathology IT

Project Leader

Dr.-Ing. André Homeyer

Fraunhofer-Institut für

Digitale Medizin MEVIS

Project Leader

M. Sc. Christian Geißler

​Technische Universtität Berlin
DAI Labor

Project Leader

Katja Wiesemann

Qualitätssicherungs-Initiative Pathologie GmbH (QuIP)

Project Leader

Katharina Wagner

​vitagroup AG

Project Leader

Header Konsortium.jpg
 

Konsortium

Kompetenzen der Konsortialpartner

Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Die Charité ist Deutschlands größtes Universitätsklinikum. Zu den Aufgaben des Instituts für Pathologie in der Kranken-
versorgung gehören die histologische und zytologische Diagnostik von Gewebematerial für die Charité und externe 
Kooperationskrankenhäuser. Durch die Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Peter Hufnagl hat das Institut eine sehr lange Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet der digitalen Pathologie und der Analyse mikroskopischer Bilder. Das Institut verfügt über 8 Slide Scanner unterschiedlicher 
Hersteller bis hin zu einem Pannoramic P1000 (3DHistech) für den Hochdurchsatz.

 

Die Charité hat aufgrund ihres übergreifenden Know-how, ihrer medizinischen Kompetenz und ihren Kontakten zu allen relevanten 
Organisationen, Gremien und zur Industrie die Projektführung übernommen. In den Arbeitspaketen wird sie den Aufbau des Ökosystem und die Bildung des Konsortiums leiten sowie die relevanten Stakeholder einbinden. Sie wird die Anwenderorientierung des Ökosystems verantworten und den Aufbau der Referenzzentren steuern.

Fraunhofer MEVIS

Fraunhofer MEVIS ist ein gemeinnütziges Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum für die digitale Medizin. Eingebunden in ein Netzwerk aus klinischen und akademischen Partnern entwickelt Fraunhofer MEVIS praxistaugliche Softwaresysteme für die bild- und datengestützte Früherkennung, Diagnose und Therapie. Ein wichtiges Kompetenzfeld ist die Entwicklung innovativer KI-Lösungen für die Pathologie. Fraunhofer MEVIS arbeitet eng mit Medizintechnik- und Pharmaunternehmen zusammen und verfolgt dabei die gesamte Innovationskette von der angewandten Forschung bis hin zum zertifizierten Medizinprodukt.

Distributed Artificial Intelligence Laboratory

Das DAI-Labor der Technischen Universität Berlin unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Sahin Albayrak arbeitet an der Schnittstelle zwischen Forschung und Industrie, mit Schwerpunkten in der Entwicklung verteilter, autonomer Systeme, Maschinellem Lernen, Robotik, Computersicherheit sowie Netzwerken und interaktiven Systemen. Das DAI-Labor konnte darüber hinaus in zahlreichen Projekten aus den Bereichen Industrie, Mobilität, Government und E-Health umfangreiche Erfahrung in der Entwicklung offener Plattformen, Datenmanagement, Interoperabilität, Machine- und Deep Learning sammeln.

 

Für das EMPAIA Projekt wird das DAI-Labor seine Expertise insbesondere im Bereich der Erklärbarkeit von KI, der Containerisierung und der Vernetzung und Suche von Diensten und Lösungen einbringen.

 

Qualitätssicherungs-Initiative Pathologie GmbH

Die QuIP führt seit 2004 Ringversuche für die Pathologie durch. Diese sind ein gängiges Mittel der externen Qualitätssicherung, mit denen die Teilnehmer ihre Leistung messen beziehungsweise mit anderen Pathologien vergleichen können.

Der Teilbereich des Projektes den die QuIP abdeckt, verfolgt das Ziel, den Zertifizierungs- und Zulassungsprozess für Diagnostiksoftware-Hersteller zu vereinfachen und die Markteinführung zu beschleunigen. Hierzu gehören einerseits Validierungsprozesse, welche die QuIP unterstützen möchte und auf der anderen Seite die Erfassung und Auswertung der Leistungsfähigkeit von KI-Tools.

Die QuIP ist das geeignete Unternehmen in Deutschland, um als Dienstleister für die Qualitätssicherung sowohl Patholog*innen, als auch Pharma- und IVD-herstellende Unternehmen dabei zu unterstützen, ihre Untersuchungsergebnisse (anonymisiert) zu vergleichen und zu optimieren. Im Fokus von EMPAIA steht dabei die Entwicklung von Instrumenten zur Langzeit-Qualitätssicherung (QS Monitoring), ein wichtiger Schritt zur Stärkung des Vertrauens der Anwender*innen in die Aussagen der Algorithmen.

vitagroup AG

In der vitagroup arbeiten deutschlandweit über 250 Spezialisten Tag für Tag daran, die Gesundheitsversorgung durch fortschrittliche Technologie und intelligente Services nachhaltig zu verbessern.

Unsere digitalen Produkte und vernetzten Versorgungslösungen machen heute schon möglich, was viele noch für Zukunftsmusik halten. Von ambulanter und stationärer Versorgung bis Direct to Patient bieten wir segmentübergreifend Lösungen für das vernetzte, patientenzentrierte Gesundheitswesen der Zukunft.

Mit dem intelligenten Einsatz fortschrittlicher Technologie vermeiden wir Redundanzen und entwickeln smarte und vernetzte Lösungen, die die gesamte Patientenreise abbilden. Auf Basis offener Standards schaffen wir echte Interoperabilität – denn nur so kann das entstehen, was wir HEALTH INTELLIGENCE nennen.

 

Die Leitung

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter Hufnagl

Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Institutsleiter Digitale Pathologie IT

Projektkoordination EMPAIA

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Horst K. Hahn

Fraunhofer-Institut für

Digitale Medizin MEVIS

Institutsleiter

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Sahin Albayrak

Technische Universtität Berlin

DAI Labor

Insitutsleiter

Thomas Pilz

Qualitätssicherungs-Initiative Pathologie GmbH (QuIP)

Geschäftsführer

Joachim Neugebauer

​vitagroup AG

Segment Lead Stationäre Versorgung

Dipl.-Inf. Norman Zerbe

Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Digitale Pathologie IT

Projektleiter

Dr.-Ing. André Homeyer

Fraunhofer-Institut für

Digitale Medizin MEVIS

Projektleiter

M. Sc. Christian Geißler

​Technische Universtität Berlin
DAI Labor

Projektleiter

Katja Wiesemann

Qualitätssicherungs-Initiative Pathologie GmbH (QuIP)

Projektleiterin

Katharina Wagner

​vitagroup AG

Projektleiterin