top of page
EMPAIAacademy_Logo-04 (002).jpg

Hands-on Workshop ECDP2022 in Berlin

At the European Congress on Digital Pathology 2022, we held a 90-minute workshop as a hands-on introduction to computational pathology both for pathologists and computer scientists. Participants were able choose between three tracks, where they worked in small groups to analyze histological images interactively, using scripted image processing or AI techniques. The workshop material is available via this page.

Whole-Slide Image Analysis with QuPath

In the tutorial “WSI Analysis with QuPath”‚ we explore the open source software QuPath, a free to use platform, which provides tools for analysis of scanned histopathological slides, so-called whole slide images (WSIs). You will learn: (1) How to install QuPath and use it for viewing and annotating a WSI. (2) How to train the AI-based classification algorithm, which is provided by QuPath, so that this algorithm can find tumor and non-tumor areas on a WSI. (3) How to use QuPath to determine the Ki-67 index, a well-known method for assessment of cancer cell proliferation in various tumors. Neither programming skills nor pathology knowledge are needed to participate in this tutorial.


 

Mitosis Detection using Image Processing Techniques in Python

In “Mitosis Detection using Image Processing Techniques in Python,” we gain a fundamental understanding of basic image processing techniques using mitosis detection in PHH3 slides as an example. We will cover the following topics:

  • Digital image representation

  • Basic operations (color deconvolution, thresholding, morphological operators, and segmentation)

  • Extraction of geometrical and statistical features

  • Classification of mitosis candidates

Python knowledge is useful but not mandatory, as the concepts of image processing are the main focus.

Histology Toy Example on Machine Learning

In the tutorial “Histology Toy Example Machine Learning,” we teach a computer to distinguish between tissue images of two classes. You set up a simple machine learning pipeline consisting of learning, applying, and displaying the results. You learn to interpret the results, the relationship of model complexity and training data as well as the importance of testing to detect some pitfalls of binary classifiers. You will need to read (and maybe modify) a few lines of Python code.

 

bottom of page

top of page
EMPAIAacademy_Logo-04 (002).jpg

Hands-on Workshop ECDP2022 in Berlin

Während des European Congress on Digital Pathology 2022 in Berlin, hat das EMPAIA Konsortium einen 90-minütigen Workshop als praktische Einführung in die computergestützte Pathologie sowohl für PathologInnen als auch für InformatikerInnen veranstaltet. Die TeilnehmerInnen konnten zwischen drei Tracks wählen, in denen sie in kleinen Gruppen histologische Bilder interaktiv unter Verwendung von skriptgesteuerten Bildverarbeitungs- oder KI-Techniken analysierten. Das Workshop-Material ist auf dieser Seite verfügbar.

Whole-Slide Image Analysis with QuPath

Im Tutorial "WSI-Analyse mit QuPath" erkunden wir die Open-Source-Software QuPath, eine kostenlose Plattform, die Werkzeuge zur Analyse gescannter histopathologischer Objektträger, sogenannter Whole Slide Images (WSIs), bereitstellt. Wir haben gelernt: (1) Wie man QuPath installiert und zum Betrachten und Annotieren eines WSI verwendet. (2) Wie man den KI-basierten Klassifikationsalgorithmus trainiert, der von QuPath bereitgestellt wird, sodass dieser Algorithmus Tumor- und Nicht-Tumorbereiche auf einem WSI finden kann. (3) Wie man mit QuPath den Ki-67-Index bestimmt, eine bekannte Methode zur Bewertung der Krebszellproliferation in verschiedenen Tumoren. Für die Teilnahme an diesem Tutorium waren weder Programmierkenntnisse noch Kenntnisse der Pathologie erforderlich.

 

Mitosis Detection using Image Processing Techniques in Python

In "Mitosis Detection using Image Processing Techniques in Python" erwerben wir ein grundlegendes Verständnis grundlegender Bildverarbeitungstechniken am Beispiel der Mitoseerkennung in PHH3-Dias. Wir haben die folgenden Themen behandelt:

  • Digitale Bilddarstellung

  • Grundlegende Operationen (Farbdekonvolution, Schwellenwertbildung, morphologische Operatoren und Segmentierung)

  • Extraktion von geometrischen und statistischen Merkmalen

  • Klassifizierung von Mitose-Kandidaten
     

Python-Kenntnisse sind nützlich, aber nicht zwingend erforderlich, da die Konzepte der Bildverarbeitung im Mittelpunkt stehen.

Histology Toy Example on Machine Learning

In dem Tutorial "Histology Toy Example Machine Learning" bringen wir einem Computer bei, zwischen Gewebebildern zweier Klassen zu unterscheiden. Sie richten eine einfache Pipeline für maschinelles Lernen ein, die aus Lernen, Anwenden und Darstellen der Ergebnisse besteht. Sie lernen, die Ergebnisse zu interpretieren, die Beziehung zwischen Modellkomplexität und Trainingsdaten sowie die Bedeutung von Tests, um einige Fallstricke von binären Klassifikatoren zu erkennen. Sie werden ein paar Zeilen Python-Code lesen (und vielleicht ändern) müssen.

 

bottom of page